World Baseball Classic 2017: Schedule, scores, highlights, and more – SB Nation

The greatest international baseball tournament on Earth is back, with 16 countries battling it out in the 2017 World Baseball Classic.

Some of the best players in Major League Baseball are a part of the event, including MVP winners Miguel Cabrera, Buster Posey, and Andrew McCutchen, Cy Young Award winner Felix Hernandez, and younger stars like Jose Altuve, Nolan Arenado, Francisco Lindor and Manny Machado.

The 16 teams are split into four pools of four teams each, playing first-round games in Seoul, South Korea, Tokyo, Japan, Jalisco, Mexico and Miami, Fla. The first round is a round robin format, with the top two teams from each pool advancing.

The second round features two pools in Tokyo and San Diego, the latter at Petco Park. The second round is also a round robin format, with the top two teams from each pool advancing.

The final four teams will battle in the semifinals and finals at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, with the championship game scheduled for Wednesday, March 22.

This is the fourth WBC, with the Dominican Republic hoping for a repeat of its undefeated championship run in 2013. Japan won the first two World Baseball Classics, in 2006 and 2009.

Teams & venues

First round

Pool A: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Netherlands, Israel
Gocheok Sky Dome, Seoul, South Korea

Pool B: Japan, Cuba, China, Australia
Tokyo Dome, Tokyo, Japan

Pool C: United States, Dominican Republic, Canada, Colombia
Marlins Park, Miami, Florida

Pool D: Mexico, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Italy
Estadio de Beisbol Chharros de Jalisco, Jalisco, Mexico

Second round

Pool E: Top two teams from Pool A, top two teams from Pool B
Tokyo Dome, Tokyo, Japan

Pool F: Top two teams from Pool C, top two teams from Pool D
Petco Park, San Diego, California

Championship round

Semifinals and championship game
Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, California

Television, radio & online coverage

Every game will be televised on MLB Network, and available online through MLB Network as well, with television provider authentication. ESPN Deportes will televise games in Spanish, which are available for online streaming through WatchESPN.

ESPN Deportes Radio will also broadcast 31 games in Spanish, and ESPN Radio will broadcast the semifinals and final in English.

Schedule & results

All times ET

Monday, March 6

4:30 a.m. – Israel vs. Korea
10 p.m. – Israel vs. Chinese Taipei

Tuesday, March 7

4:30 a.m. – Korea vs. Netherlands*
5 a.m. – Cuba vs. Japan
10 p.m. – China vs. Cuba

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (8 a.m.)

Wednesday, March 8

4:30 a.m. – Chinese Taipei vs. Netherlands*
5 a.m. – Japan vs. Australia
10 p.m. – Netherlands vs. Israel

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (8 a.m.)

Thursday, March 9

4:30 a.m. – Korea vs. Chinese Taipei*
5 a.m. – Australia vs. China
6 p.m. – Canada vs. Dominican Republic
9 p.m. – Mexico vs. Italy
10 p.m. – Australia vs. Cuba^

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (8 a.m.)
^tape-delayed on MLB Network (12 a.m.)

Friday, March 10

4 a.m. – Pool A tiebreaker game (if necessary)
5 a.m. – China vs. Japan
6 p.m. – Colombia vs. United States
9 p.m. – Venezuela vs. Puerto Rico

Saturday, March 11

5 a.m. – Pool B tiebreaker game (if necessary)
12 p.m. – Colombia vs. Canada
3 p.m. – Venezuela vs. Italy
6:30 p.m. – United States vs. Dominican Republic
9:30 p.m. – Puerto Rico vs. Mexico
10 p.m. – Pool A winner vs. Pool B runner-up*

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (12:30 a.m.)

Sunday, March 12

6 a.m. – Pool B winner vs. Pool A runner-up
12:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs. Colombia
3:30 p.m. – Italy vs. Puerto Rico
7 p.m. – Canada vs. United States
10 p.m. – Mexico vs. Venezuela

Monday, March 13

6 a.m. – Pool A runner-up vs. Pool A winner
6 p.m. – Pool C tiebreaker game (if necessary)
9 p.m. – Pool D tiebreaker game (if necessary)

Tuesday, March 14

6 a.m. – Pool B runner-up vs. Pool B winner
9 p.m. – Pool C winner vs. Pool D winner
11 p.m. – Pool A runner-up vs. Pool B runner-up

Wednesday, March 15

6 a.m. – Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner
9 p.m. – Pool D runner-up vs. Pool C runner-up

Thursday, March 16

6 a.m. – Pool E tiebreaker game (if necessary)
10 p.m. – Pool D runner-up vs. Pool C winner

Friday, March 17

10 p.m. – Pool C runner-up vs. Pool D winner

Saturday, March 18

3:30 p.m. – Pool D winner vs. Pool D runner-up
10 p.m. – Pool C runner-up vs. Pool C winner

Sunday, March 19

6 p.m. – Pool F tiebreaker game (if necessary)

Monday, March 20

9 p.m. – Semifinal: Pool F winner vs. Pool E runner up

Tuesday, March 21

9 pm. – Semifinal: Pool F runner-up vs. Pool E winner

Wednesday, March 22

9 p.m. – Championship Game


Write a Reply or Comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.