How NASCAR crowns its Sprint Cup champion – Nascar

RELATED: Chase Grid | Full Chase rules

The final race at Homestead-Miami Speedway is all about order of finish. No bonus points are awarded for laps led, most laps led or for winning the race. So the best finisher from the Championship 4 group of Kevin Harvick, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. will be crowned the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion.

The Championship 4:
1. Kevin Harvick, 5,000 points
2. Jeff Gordon, 5,000 points
3. Kyle Busch, 5,000 points
4. Martin Truex Jr., 5,000 points

Drivers who didn’t advance to the Championship 4 had their point total reset to 2,000 (with any regular-season wins bonus points added), plus the additional points they’ve earned during the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

How the rest of the top 10 looks headed into Homestead:
5. Carl Edwards, 2,334 points
6. Joey Logano, 2,319 points
7. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 2306 points
8. Brad Keselowski, 2,304 points
9. Kurt Busch, 2,297 points
10. Denny Hamlin, 2,293 points

RELATED: How a driver can finish fifth | Driver standings


Write a Reply or Comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.