Joey Logano tops final practice at Miami – Nascar

Final practice recap | RELATED: Full practice results

Joey Logano (175.404 mph) topped the board in the final NASCAR Sprint Cup practice of the season before Sunday’s season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The 50-minute session marked the last on-track time before Sunday’s Ford EcoBoost 400 (3 p.m. ET, NBC/Live Extra, MRN, SiriusXM).

The Team Penske driver scored a front row starting spot in qualifying for Sunday’s race and has six wins on the season. He also secured the best five-lap average.

Kasey Kahne came in second in the session (175.080 mph). Kahne is trying to avoid his first winless season since 2010.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (175.035 mph), Carl Edwards (174.571 mph) and Kurt Busch (174.560 mph) rounded out the top five.

Jeff Gordon led the way for the Championship 4 drivers, finishing the session ninth (173.321 mph). The four-time champion held the best 10-lap average at 169.489 mph. Martin Truex Jr. was 10th (173.232 mph), Kyle Busch was 17th (171.418 mph) and Kevin Harvick was 26th (169.972 mph). Harvick, the defending champion and race winner, opened the session on scuff tires for his initial run and reported near the end of the session that he thought the right front tire may be going soft. The top finisher in Sunday’s race among the Championship 4 drivers will be crowned the 2015 Sprint Cup champion.

David Ragan suffered a flat left-rear tire 10 minutes into practice.

Saturday’s final practice was the lone practice to go the scheduled length as weather did not interrupt the team’s on-track time.

Practice 1 recap | RELATED: Full practice results

Kyle Larson emerged with the fastest speed in the first of two Sprint Cup Series practices on Saturday at Homestead-Miami Speedway after the session started late and ended early because of rain.

The Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates driver’s best speed of 176.010 mph edged defending series champion and one of four remaining Chase for the Sprint Cup drivers in Kevin Harvick, who pulled in second at 175.194 mph clip.

Carl Edwards (174.374 mph), Greg Biffle (174.126 mph) and Joey Logano (174.081 mph) rounded out the top five.

Kyle Busch was the only other Chase driver in the top 10, placing ninth overall with a speed of 173.399 mph. Jeff Gordon was 15th at 172.337 mph and Martin Truex Jr. was 19th at 171.816 mph.

Casey Mears and AJ Allmendinger both ran into issues in the session, each spinning with Allmendinger’s No. 47 Chevrolet taking heavy right-side damage.


Write a Reply or Comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.