Larson, Kenseth, Truex pace Friday’s practices at Richmond – Nascar

RELATED: Full Practice 2 results

Kyle Larson topped the leaderboard in Friday’s second Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice at Richmond Raceway at 120.235 mph in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet.

Right behind him was Joey Logano in the No. 22 Team Penske Ford at 120.208 mph. Logano is in need of a win in Saturday night’s Federated Auto Parts 400 (7:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN) regular season finale to advance to the playoffs.

Rounding out the top five were rookie Daniel Suarez in the No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota at 119.925 mph, series points leader Martin Truex Jr. in the No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota at 119.697 mph and Matt Kenseth in the No. 20 JGR Toyota at 119.564 mph.

Rookie Erik Jones, also in need of a win, only managed to run five laps in the session. He was one of two drivers (along with Landon Cassill, who ran 11) that fulfilled a 60-minute penalty hold to start the session.

Teams will qualify Friday at 5:45 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

RELATED: Full Practice 1 results

Matt Kenseth and Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series 2017 Regular Season Champion Martin Truex Jr. topped the leaderboard in Friday’s first Monster Energy Series practice at Richmond Raceway, with matching best speeds of 120.897 mph in their respective No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota and 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota.

Right behind them was Toyota stablemate Kyle Busch in the No. 18 JGR ride at 120.423 mph.

Rounding out the top five were Kyle Larson in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet and Brad Keselowski in the No. 2 Team Penske Ford.

Dale Earnhardt Jr., who must win Saturday night (7:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), was sixth in practice. Fellow “must-win” driver Erik Jones logged the eighth-fastest speed.

A handful of drivers will be held in final practice, with Erik Jones and Landon Cassill each earning 60-minute penalties for Darlington infractions. Clint Bowyer and Matt Kenseth will be held 30 minutes, while Jamie McMurray, Austin Dillon and Kevin Harvick will pause for 15.

The next practice session is at noon ET on NBCSN.


Write a Reply or Comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.