Alabama Sports Hall of Fame announces 2017 Distinguished Sportsmen –

The Alabama Sports Hall of Fame has announced that ESPN senior vice president Pete Derzis and plastic surgeon Gaylon McCollough will be recognized as Distinguished Sportsmen at the 49th Annual State of Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet on Saturday, May 13, 2017.

Derzis will be the 2017 Distinguished American Sportsman or his work in creating numerous sporting events in the state of Alabama, the most notable being two ESPN owned and operated post season bowl games (the Birmingham Bowl and the Raycom Camelia Bowl in Montgomery).

He also served as the associate athletic director at UAB from 1977-1990, where he managed various areas of the athletic department, including all sports administration, broadcasting and fundraising, as well as game day management. His present work with ESPN includes oversight of college football, men’s and women’s college basketball, NCAA Championships, Olympic sports and rights acquisitions.

McCollough, a renowned plastic surgeon, is being recognized as the 2017 Distinguished Alabama Sportsman. Previously a member of the Board of Directors of the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame, he has been involved since the beginning with the Bryant-Jordan Student-Athlete Scholarship Program, providing scholarships to graduating seniors interested in studying medicine. The Bryant-Jordan program annually awards over 100 scholarships to high school seniors based on athletic and scholastic achievement.

GaylonMcC.jpgPlastic surgeon and former Alabama football player Gaylon McCullough. 

He was an Academic All-American center for Coach Bear Bryant at the University of Alabama and was a member of the team’s national championship team in 1964, graduating with honors in 1965. After he graduated, he enrolled in Medical School at the University of Alabama in Birmingham.

The two inductees join former Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Distinguished Sportsmen including:  Hall Thompson (1987), Bob Hope (1988), Jack Warner (1989), Ray Scott (1990), Hugh Culverhouse (1991), Dr. James Andrews (1992), Former President George H. Bush (1992), Charles O. Finley (1993), Dr. David Bronner (1994), Dr. Wilford Bailey (1995), Tom York (1996), Dr. Larry Lemak (1997), Larry D. Striplin, Jr. (1998), Bill Ireland (2000), Bill Legg (2001), John Croyle (2002), Roy Kramer (2003), George Mann 2004), Jim Wilson Jr. (2005), Michael E. Stephens (2006) David Housel (2007), Mal Moore (2007), Joseph Gibbs (2008), Ronald Bruno (2009), Nick Bollettieri (2009), Mickey Newsome (2010), Rick Woodward (2010), Don Logan (2011), Dr. Ken Blankenship (2014), Charles Kelley (2014), Ron Froehlich (2015), Mike Slive (2015) and Edgar Welden (2016).

The 49th Annual Induction Ceremony will be held, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel. For more information, call the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame at (205) 323-6665 or visit the ASHOF website.


Write a Reply or Comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.