Buy tickets for the 2017 Express & Echo Sports Awards – Devon Live

Tickets are on sale for the celebration of sporting excellence that is the Express & Echo sports awards. A diverse group of finalists, from youth team coaches to professional athletes, will be honoured at a glittering event at Exeter City Football Club’s St James’s Park.

Judges Exeter city Football Club chairman Julian Tagg, Catherine Hill, of Exeter City Council, rugby referee Sara Cox, Ross Morshead, of Exeter College and DevonLive editor Patrick Phelvin have selected a shortlist and winners for 12 categories which recognise both professional and amateur achievements in the sporting world, with new categories such as best sporting moment, which celebrates a memorable moment from sport that stood out over the last 12 months, and the school team of the year award.

Vying for the Best Sporting Moment award are Exeter City striker Ollie Watkins, for scoring twice to win the Devon derby against Plymouth Argyle, and the Exeter Chiefs, who were awarded a penalty try to win them a place in the Premiership play-offs and their fans a trip to Twickenham.

The awards night, presented by former ITV Westcountry sports reporter Mark Tyler, will be held at the Grecians’ St James’s Park stadium on Wednesday, April 26. It promises to be an entertaining event, with a revamped ceremony focusing more on the award winners.

Click here for more information and to buy tickets for the 2017 Express & Echo Sports Awards

Also new this year is the Eamonn Dolan award, named after the Exeter City legend who died last year, aged just 48, following a battle with cancer. The award will be given to someone nominated from a different category that the judges feel deserve extra recognition and praise for their achievements in their nominated field.

The shortlist is as follows:

Amateur Sports Personality

Emma Davie

Aaron Sellick

Emily White

Ian Allen

Lizzy Dyson

Best Sporting Moment

Big League Wrestling

South West Athletics Club and CEDA

Ollie Watkins

Lee Holmes

Harry Tincknell

Exeter Chiefs

Business Contribution Sport

Clear Property

Refrigerated Vehicle Rental

Bigwave media

Coach of the Year

Michael Smerdon

Steven Knight

Glenn Walpole

Bernie Chilcott

Mike Harris

Health & Wellbeing Award

Matt Upston

Peter Ferlie

Emma Kessie

Outstanding Contribution to Sport

Pete Ferlie

Chris Leisk

Alan Quick

Martyn Rogers

Scott Walker

Exeter City Ability Counts FC

Paul Howe

Professional Sports Award

Sara Cox

Luke Pearce

Ollie Watkins

Jack Nowell

Jo Pavey

Billy Searle

Luke Cowan-Dickie

School Team of the Year

Exeter College Hockey Academy

Alphington School Football Team

The Maynard School Under-14 Netball Team

Exmouth Community College Trampoline Team

Exeter College

Team of the Year

Haldon Ladies Tug of War Team

River Teign Rowing Club

Exeter City Reds Walking Football Team

Exeter City FITC Futsal Team

Exeter College Mixed Hockey

Triumph Over Adversity

Nick Saunders

Benita Lambert

Debbie Attrill

Young Sports Personality

Devon Thelanderson-Smith

Ethan Ampadu

Molly Canham

Marcus Street

Sam Talbot

Click here for more information and to buy tickets for the 2017 Express & Echo Sports Awards


Write a Reply or Comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.