Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, Dec 24 – Yahoo Sports

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

– – – –

SOCCER

Van Gaal in need of cheer, Hiddink back at Chelsea

LONDON – Seasonal cheer has been scarce for Louis van Gaal after a six-match winless sequence for his Manchester United side intensified rumours that he will be sacked and Stoke City are unlikely to be offering any solace on Saturday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

– –

We will have team news ahead of Saturday’s English Premier League games. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect throughout)

– – – –

CRICKET

Australia v West Indies, second test, Melbourne (from 26)

Windies bid to avoid knockout blow on Boxing Day

MELBOURNE – Under fire from all quarters after an abysmal start to their tour, West Indies have pledged to be more competitive at the traditional Boxing Day test but will struggle to prevent hosts Australia from taking an unassailable 2-0 series lead. (CRICKET-AUSTRALIA (PREVIEW, TV), moved, 400 words)

We will also move the factbox: CRICKET-AUSTRALIA/ (FACTBOX)

– – – –

GOLF

Anchors away as PGA Tour players adapt to change

LOS ANGELES – Just two weeks remain before PGA Tour players have to adapt in competition to a ban by golf’s rulemakers on long putters being anchored to the body, and Tim Clark is among those who expect “some challenges along the way”. (GOLF-PGA/ANCHORING (FEATURE), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 650 words)

– – – –

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (London desk editor: Pritha Sarkar)

Comments

Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*